“Fine Cleveland Orchestra debuts by conductor Juanjo Mena and violinist Alina Ibragimova light up Sibelius-Schoenberg bill”

Enthusiastic reviews follow Juanjo Mena’s debut with the Cleveland Orchestra.

“Mena led an intense and balanced performance, allowing each facet of Sibelius’ argument to present itself as if it were a naturally occurring phenomenon, and maintaining good control without overdriving the music. The orchestra played with commitment and an ample measure of warmth and sonic richness that made this concert opener especially satisfying.”

“Mena rose to the occasion, holding it all together without sacrificing the organic unfolding of the tone poem’s narrative.”

“The result was a first-rate performance that deserved more than the polite applause that a somewhat restless audience gave it.”

(Mark Satola, www.cleveland.com)

“Juanjo Mena and Alina Ibragimova make exhilharating debuts with The Cleveland Orchestra”

“There were three big works on the program and conductor, soloist and orchestra were a good match for all of them.”

(Timothy Robson, Bachtrack)

“Juanjo Mena led The Cleveland Orchestra in a lustrous and well-paced excursion through Schoenberg’s score, terracing its climaxes and relaxing its pace to let dozens of lyrical solos shine through.”

(Daniel Hathaway, clevelandclassical.com)

You can read the full reviews here:

Mark Satola, cleveland.com

Timothy Robson, Bachtrack

Daniel Hathaway, Cleveland Classical