Turina: Orchestral Works, Vol II

María Espada (soprano), Martin Roscoe (piano), BBC Philharmonic, Juanjo Mena

This is the latest album in the ongoing series of Spanish orchestral music with the BBC Philharmonic under Juanjo Mena, and Mena’s second featuring the works by Joaquín Turina, one of the leading Spanish composers of his generation.

The works recorded here are filled with the inspiration which Turina found in his native Andalusia and particularly the city of Seville. La Procesión del Rocío, his first orchestral work, was inspired by memories of a procession held in the gypsy quarter of Seville and is filled with lively dance rhythms. Canto a Sevilla, a song cycle with orchestra, is a heartfelt tribute to Seville and its culture, taking on themes such as the vibrant Easter Procession, Seville’s beautiful ornamental fountains, and even a ghost that haunts the streets at night. Danzas Gitanas, a collection of Andalusian gypsy dances, introduces a nocturnal atmosphere into a style normally characterised by bright orchestral colours and extravagant rhythmic intricacies. The Rapsodia Sinfónica, one of Turina’s last works, represents a more mature, reflective composer. The use of piano and string orchestra limits the available palette of colours, Turina instead deciding to focus on the intimate relationship between the ensemble and soloist, a role here filled by Martin Roscoe.


Joaquín Turina (1882-1949)

La Procesión del Rocío, Op. 9 8:09
1 I Triana en fiesta. Allegro vivo – Cédez – Tempo I – Poco meno 3:09
2 II La procesión. Allegretto mosso – Andante con moto – Allegretto mosso 5:00

3 Rapsodia Sinfónica, Op. 66 8:49
Andante – Allegro vivo – Un poco menos vivo – Allegro vivo
Martin Roscoe piano

Danzas gitanas, Op. 55 13:43
4 I Zambra. Adagio vivo – Allegretto quasi Andantino – Allegro 3:43
5 II Danza de seducción. Allegro moderato – Poco meno – Tempo I, Allegro moderato 3:18
6 III Danza ritual. Andante – Più lento 3:18
7 IV Generalife. Molto vivo 1:45
8 V Sacromonte. Allegro moderato – Più vivo – Cediendo 1:26

Canto a Sevilla, Op. 37 37:19
9 I Preludio. Andante vivo – Allegretto molto moderato – Tempo I – Vivo 4:47
10 II Semana Santa. Allegretto – Lento – Marcha lenta – Tempo I 8:35
11 III Las fuentecitas del Parque. Andantino – Tempo I – Lento – Andantino – Tempo I – Tranquillo 4:31
12 IV Noche de Feria. Vivo – Allegretto – Vivo – Poco più tranquillo – Andantino – Andante – Vivo 6:54
13 V El Fantasma. Lento – Allegretto molto moderato – Lento – Andantino – Tempo I 3:34
14 VI La Giralda. Molto moderato – Tempo I – Un poco más lento – Más vivo – Lentamente – Allegro 3:14
15 VII Ofrenda. Lento – Andante – Andantino mosso – Allegretto – Poco meno – Allegretto – Alegro moderato – Vivo – Andante 5:22
María Espada soprano

TT 68:33

BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena

Recorded at MediaCity UK, Salford
22 January 2013 (La Procesión del Rocío and Danzas Gitanas)
24 September 2013 (Canto a Sevilla)
26 September 2013 (Rapsodia Sinfónica)

Ralph Couzens (Executive)
Brian Pidgeon
Mike George

Sound Engineers
Stephen Rinker
Chris Hardman (Assistant: La Procesión del Rocío and Danzas Gitanas)
Tom Parnell (Assistant: Rapsodia Sinfónica and Canto a Sevilla)

Format: Digital CD 16Bit 44.1Khz
Originally recorded in: 24Bit 96Khz